Press Release: 2011 Arnold Strongman Classic

DP2The Arnold Strongman Classic annually features the world’s top strongman professionals in a two-day competition to determine the world’s strongest man.

Two-time Arnold Strongman Classic champion Derek Poundstone of Waterbury, Conn., will return to defend his title again in 2011, and will again face six-time ASC champ Zydrunas Savickas of Lithuania. Poundstone defeated Savickas in 2010 after Savickas returned from a one-year hiatus, The mighty Lithuanian won the Arrnold Strongman six straight times between 2003 and 2008. He also won the World’s Strongest Man in 2009 and 2010 and is considered by many to be the greatest strongman of all time.

The following athletes will compete in the 2011 Arnold Strongman Classic*:

Mike Jenkins -- 2010 Arnold Amateur World Strongman Championships winner
Mikhail Koklyaev
Brian Shaw
Brian Siders
Travis Ortmayer

Derek Poundstone -- Arnold Strongman Classic champion 2009 and 2010
Zydrunas Savickas -- Arnold Strongman Classic champion 2003-2008



*The winner of the 2011 All American Strongman Challenge, to be held Jan. 29-30 at the L.A. Fit EXPO in Los Angeles will receive an automatic invite to compete in the Arnold Strongman Classic.

*In addition, two wild-card invitations will be extended to deserving athletes before the 2011 Arnold Strongman Classic to bring the final field to 10 athletes.

The 2011 Arnold Strongman Classic will feature five events – Apollon's Wheel, Hummer Tire Deadlift, Circus Dumbbell, Manhood Stones and Timber Carry designed to test sheer brute strength.

Schedule for 2011 Arnold Strongman Classic

Friday, March 4, 2-5 p.m. at Arnold Fitness EXPO Stage

Event #1: Apollon’s Wheel
Event #2: Hummer Tire Deadlift


Saturday, March 5, 1:45-4:45 p.m. at Arnold Fitness EXPO Stage

Event #3: Circus Dumbbell

Event #4: Manhood Stones


Saturday, March 5, 7 p.m. at Veteran’s Memorial

Event #5: Timber Carry


The Arnold Strongman Classic is produced by Dr. Terry and Jan Todd of the University of Texas. David Webster is Head Referee. Committee members are Odd Haughen, Dr. John Fair, Bill Kazmaier, Steve Slater, Kim Beckwith, Magnus ver Magnusson, Richard Sorin and Jim Lorimer. Sarah Fair is Scorekeeper. On-stage announcer will be Clint Richards.



Arnold Strongman Classic Champions

2002: Mark Henry
2003: Zydrunas Savickas
2004: Zydrunas Savickas
2005: Zydrunas Savickas
2006: Zydrunas Savickas
2007: Zydrunas Savickas
2008: Zydrunas Savickas
2009: Derek Poundstone.
2010: Derek Poundstone

Contact Information

Event chair: Terry Todd
Event chair: Steve Slater
Media contact: Brent LaLonde

Subscribe to RxMuscle on Youtube