OLYMPIA COVERAGE  |  ARNOLD COVERAGE  |      search-slim2

rxgirl

The Stage Makeup Series with Dr. Stacey Naito: Introduction

Join Dr. Stacey Naito National Bikini Champion as she shares her secrets to perfect stage makeup.  Here she takes you through the basic steps necessary to stand out on stage.

Introduction: General Guidelines

I am not a fully professionally trained makeup artist (yes, I have taken some professional courses), but in my years of pageant involvement, modeling and competing I have learned a great deal by trial and error. Stage makeup proved to be the biggest challenge since it can be difficult to determine how strong the stage lights will be if you have never stepped onto a competition stage before. Trust me, those lights are BRIGHT, so if you apply makeup like you are going for a nice evening out, you will look washed out onstage. With that being said, try not to have such a heavy hand that you end up looking clownish.

I STRONGLY encourage female competitors to write down EVERY SINGLE THING that they need for their makeup sessions. I have a master list which I use as a reference when I pack for a trip, and I also have notes on my list so that I can keep track of little details while I apply my makeup. Make sure to include items like cotton swabs, brushes, primer, moisturizer, foundation sponges, scissors, lash glue, tweezers, and a hand mirror. Whenever you embark on a makeup application session, it is advisable to separate related items in piles. For example, you can line up eye shadows in one pile, false lashes, tweezers, scissors, lash glue and a mirror in another, etc.